Evolution

I just finished the easiest exam of this MBA year: Introduction to accountancy. I was hoping to complete the exam in an hour.. turns out, I needed the entire 2 hours!! Not because of accounting, but because of arithmetic. It took me more time to add and subtract than to figure out journal entries. Its amazing how, since I began using computers, my math skills have deteriorated drastically.

I wonder as we evolve, thanks to excel sheets and cash less transactions, if we will completely lose our ability to make sense of numbers the way we used to before. I mean, I would have needed 10 seconds to solve a problem like (9573 + 87809 – 86) without paper, but now, I don’t even know where to begin.

Lose arithmetic ability? Silly thought, but a thought nevertheless..

Leave a Reply

