Louvre

Once short of four, I’ve voyaged through Louvre,
It led me toward which life shore, I’m unsure.

Voyaged through time, through civilization,
How it changed who I’m, is my predilection.

Look at beautiful Mona Lisa, all eyes scream,
Why precious these are? was my quite squirm.

Gracious so is Venus de Milo, visitors ponder,
Quick, I must snap a photo, before onlookers wander.

Man’s greatest works of art, rest right beside me,
Yet seldom has my thought, felt thoughts so empty.

Impoverished so is my gaze, at an unknown masterpiece,
He stares right back at my face; asking me to “leave please”.

I’ve read philosophers, dedicated years to my trade,
Yet I know neither these lovers, nor hands by who they were made.

Ashamed is my humility, lost are my words,
Undeserving of this opportunity, I thoroughly was.

Once short of four, I’ve voyaged through Louvre,
Each time before I stepped in its door, I’d ended my tour.

Voyaged through time, through civilization,
Voyaged like a blind man, without direction.

Leave a Reply

